Proof of Life, Some Updates, and A Lot of Gratitude

I am alive, well, and still in Malawi 🙂

When I notice I’m answering those questions more frequently via text message I know it’s probably been too long since I’ve been here!

I apologize for the prolonged silence! I have been taking a break from social media and had the intention to use this place for updates, but suddenly it’s the end of November and I’m not sure how that happened.

Like the rest of the world, news headlines and updates can lead you to believe that things in Malawi are in dire straights. While the country is facing challenges are various fronts, I’m happy to report the view from my favorite coffee spot is as beautiful as ever; we had a beautiful rain storm one week ago whose smells and cool temps ignited hope that the beauty of rainy season is just around the corner; I’m learning so much at work right now which makes every day exciting and I love going to work more than I ever have; in short…I’m grateful for much these days 🙂

We wrapped up a successful team season in October. This was the first year we have managed to conduct 3 surgery teams and it was an exciting time. Across the three teams nearly 100 procedures were done, both the American and Malawian teams learned so much from one another, and the ripples continue to be seen every time we enter our ORs for any type of procedure.

Our new staff have been with us for a full year now! It’s hard to believe that just one year ago we more than doubled our family and now they’re all an integral part of the family and the work we do every day.

Looking ahead we’re excited for hospital renovations, possible new radiology equipment, and the most exciting news we have to report is our long awaited partnership with the Ministry of Health to enable us to provide free maternity and neonatal services to those in our community is nearing completion! We’re looking forward to being able to expand our exceptional maternity care to our immediate community in the new year. Stay tuned for some ways you can partner with us to make sure our labor ward is ready to an exceptional standard and our nurses and clinicians have the tools they need in hand to deliver exceptional care.

I continue to be profoundly grateful for all of the ways you support me and my time here in Malawi. Zikomo ❤

Leave a comment